Which Chakra Do You Need To Work On?

The seven chakras (‘wheels’ in Sanskrit) are an integral aspect of Yoga. A chakra is a center of energy within one’s body.Each of the 7 chakras is located on different levels in our body, one below the other and each one channels energy to different parts of our physical, emotional and spiritual being. In many cases we may see an imbalance in our chakras which manifests itself in many physical, mental or emotional ways. Techniques like chakra meditation, chakra balancing and chakra healing help restore this balance and enhance quality of life. Each chakra has a mantra (that sounds like om) that you can use to meditatein order to restore its balance and hone the power of that particular chakra.

The following are the 7 chakras:

  1. Muladhara/ Root Chakra

Located at the base of your spine, the Muladhara chakra is associated with survival and the feeling of safety and grounding. If you face insecurities or fears or have digestive issues, this chakra may need balancing. Slowly chant the mantra ‘Lam’ and visualize the colour red.

  1. Swadhisthana/ Sacral Chakra

The Svadhisthana/Swadhisthana chakra is located just below the navel and governs your emotions, relationships, sexuality, imagination and creative processes.Its colour is orange and its mantra is ‘Vam’. Focus on this chakra while meditating if you feel great amounts of shame or guilt, fear change, or face intimacy issues.

  1. Manipura/ Solar Plexus Chakra

Located above your navel, the Manipura chakra is characterized by personal will and mental abilities. Use the mantra ‘Ram’ and focus on this chakra and the colour yellow to boost self-esteem, confidence and assert your position in your space.

  1. Anahata/ Heart Chakra

The Anahata chakra is found in the center of your chest and is green in colour. It’s closely linked to your respiratory and cardiovascular system and any heart or breathing related condition is a result of an imbalance here. Ayurveda along with the usage of the mantra ‘Yam’ helps restore balance. This chakra, if balanced also enablesthe formation of emotional connections.

  1. Vishuddha/ Throat chakra

Blue in colour and located in the throat (close to the thyroid glands), the Vishuddha chakra is associated with communication and self-expression. To overcome feelings of isolation or hormonal imbalances, practice chanting ‘Ham’.

  1. Ajna/ Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is indigo in colour andrests on your temple, above the junction of your eyebrows. It is related to intuition and insight. If this chakra is balanced, it allows you to effectively perceive the world around you and understand your place and purpose in it. Ajna chakra meditation uses the mantra ‘Sham’.

  1. Sahasrara/ Crown Chakra

Sahasrara chakra meditation involves using the mantra ‘Om’. It’s associated with the violet colour and serves as a link that channels energy through the other chakras to establish a connection with the outer world. Peace and confidence and key traits that are the result of a balanced Sahasrara chakra.

It is essential to dedicate enough time to chakra meditation and ensure that each of these chakras works in unison with the others for a well-balanced life.

Top Reviews

About Me

Upcoming Events

No event found!

Explore Us